Tags

,

I glance at the display as I hurry past a local yarn shop…

 I walk on…

    I stop in my tracks…

and go back for a second look.red-brown knitting

There’s a casual pullover with an interesting panel across the front. The yarn looks more lightweight and less chunky than the large stitches suggest. It’s in a kind of reddish-brown colour. I walk on again…

turn around…

and go inside. I ask to see the yarn. I touch it. I hold a ball in my hands. It’s really light; soft and smooshy. I ask how many balls I’d need and how much it would it cost to make the pullover. The answer has me rummaging through the shelves but the colours aren’t what I want and there isn’t any more red.

ball of red brown yarn

I go home, thinking about the jumper. It would be a fast knit – almost Instant Gratification. Should I choose one of those less exciting colours?  Probably not.  Reason says I already have more than one project on the go and the stash of yarn under the bed is enough to keep me knitting for a while yet but… I keep thinking about that jumper. I can imagine it growing on my needles. I know what I’d wear it with. There’s an incessant niggling at the back of my mind because I know somewhere else that should stock that yarn. I take a knitting friend who’s got a good eye for colour – just in case we see the yarn. We do. I succumb to the reddish-brown…

