Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

There wasn’t much Christmas knitting done here at all: just a new pair of socks for each of my daughters.

Pair of wine red textured socks

A touch of class

Pair of purple-grey socks

Pinot Noir

However, I did make a couple of loops for other presents: one for my mother and one for a very good knitting friend. I adapted a classic pattern, Cheryl Niamath’s Wisp (of which there are 4795 projects on Ravelry to date!). I used fine silk and mohair blends including Rowan’s Kidsilk Haze Glamour, which is strung with sequins.

Pale blue lace cowl

Heaven

Teal lace cowl

Looped

The most challenging project was the Auf Wiedersehen shawl I made for a friend who has now returned to the US. As well as being part of the same international community (with a knitting group) she was my neighbour and we sometimes got together just to knit and chat. It was lovely and I miss her.

This shawl is Judy Marples’ Vigneto Shawl and I loved knitting it. It’s slightly asymmetrical but very straightforward to knit. You can vary the proportions of vines to leaves. The leaf part really comes into its own once the shawl is blocked.

blue lace asymmetrical shawl

Auf Wiedersehen

Wishing everyone all the best for 2014!

IF YOU’RE NOT LOGGED IN TO WORDPRESS YOU MAY SEE AN ADVERTISEMENT HERE. PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS IS NOT BECAUSE I EARN MONEY WITH A WORD AD PROGRAM, BUT BECAUSE I HAVEN’T PURCHASED THEIR NO ADS UPGRADE.  YOU CAN READ MORE HERE: ABOUT THESE ADS
