Tags

, , , , , , ,

Jenna recently wrote about the creative process over at Hardknitlife. This was part of a blog hop and I’m very flattered to be one of her recommendations.

1. What am I working on?

Socks (handy travel project)

green lace sock on needles and travel pouch

A cardigan (more complicated)

red cardigan yoke

And a couple of Things That Can’t Be Disclosed Right Now.

2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?

It doesn’t. Whenever I’m drawn to a new project I check out the projects on Ravelry to learn and be inspired by their experience. Sometimes imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. My Ravello has non-identical sleeves because I was so taken with a jumper I saw.

striped sweater -back

3. Why do I write/create what I do?

I create because I like not looking like everybody else. I create because sitting idly is a waste of precious time when there are so many beautiful things out there waiting to be made! How often do you hear people say “I don’t know how you have the time for that!” yet they blithely sit in the doctor’s/dentist’s waiting room twiddling their thumbs and getting impatient because appointments are running late. I write because I felt that whilst bombarding my Facebook friends with the pretties is alright now and again, most of them are not the slightest bit interested in my struggles to match tension or find the perfect button!

4. How does my writing/creating process work?

Now that I’ve been blogging for a while I do try to take some photos mid-way through a project. I am more aware of articulating any challenges I’ve faced and solutions I’ve found. I do have in mind that my finished projects should be “blog-worthy” and try to come up with interesting aspects to share with readers. On the other hand, I also feel that it is okay to occasionally stray away from my main focus and share a post that is more personal or about something that has very little or even absolutely nothing to do with knitting.

I appreciate that this hop has already brought new readers to my blog and would like to nominate the following less well-known blogs I read to answer the same questions:

Hipster Spice

On The Needles

themanyknitsofnadine

