Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I need to eat or I’d never have the energy to knit (I get ‘wobbly legs’ if I go too long without food) so here’s a non-knitting post about food thanks to today’s The Daily Post suggestion: Bacon and chocolate, caramel and cheddar… Is there an unorthodox food pairing you really enjoy? Share with us the weirdest combo you’re willing to admit that you like — and how you discovered it.

I’ve always enjoyed my food. My parents would tell you that I eat everything but really it’s about 99% of things. Having spent several years in South-East Asia, there are a few things I-wil-not-eat (again) like eggs that resemble unborn chickens, chicken feet and funny fish that look like worms. I grew up in the UK and from term to term we’d alternate between having school dinners and taking packed lunches. My mother would enhance the “I eat everything”, with “even school dinners”. That’s saying something! But back in the seventies school meals were proper “dinners”: meat and two veg and no funny plasticky reconstituted-something pretending to be meat. And there were puddings! Traditional, warm and hearty, stomach-filling desserts. I was always ravenous by lunchtime (I still need feeding at frequent intervals, particularly when I’m doing a lot of “brain-work”) so this was perfect.

Of course, not all my friends ate school dinners and a roast every Wednesday followed by shepherd’s pie every Thursday palls after a while, so there were phases when packed lunches were favoured. During the final year or two of school, my sister and I would often spend the early part of our Saturday afternoons filling a week’s worth of small rolls – to be frozen and taken out day-by-day. We were old enough to be allowed to just get on with this ourselves and our sandwich selections sometimes reflected a lack of supervision. Although I do have a bit of a sweet tooth, sandwiches should be savoury and my favourites had a bit of a bite to them: peanut butter and sweet silverskin onions or Danish blue cheese with said onions (small pickled onions). Funnily enough, I never had to share! Now and again, I feel a bout of nostalgia and jars of small pickled onions and peanut butter and packages of blue cheese fall into my shopping basket. Funnily enough,  I still never have to share!

