Tags

, , , , , , ,

I have been knitting. Honestly, I have!

But unusually for me I’m posting a no-knitting post for the second time in a week. I could wait. But the clock is ticking and this is something I feel strongly about: literacy.

I’m involved with a local project under the auspices of the FAWCO* Education Task Force. One of FAWCO’s main aims is to improve the lives of women and children. While browsing the internet, looking for fund-raising ideas with books, I came across World Education’s #Pages4Progress.  #Pages4Progress is World Education’s campaign to raise funds to increase literacy and help meet one of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals: #2 – Achieve Universal Primary Education. The goal is to log 2,000,015 pages by September 8th. The original goal of 20,015 pages logged were sponsored at a dollar a page!

Girl reading

This project appealed to me immediately. It’s so easy to ‘do your bit’. I knew I’d be able to encourage other members of the AIWCC (American International Women’s Club of Cologne), one of the organisations under FAWCO, to log their reading progress.

So now I’m being cheeky and asking all you crafters who like to read, to log the pages you read with #Pages4Progress.  It’s a simple action that can make such a difference! Thank you!

*Founded in 1931, FAWCO (the Federation of American Women’s Clubs Overseas) is an international network of independent volunteer clubs and associations. There are 64 member clubs in 33 countries worldwide, with a total membership of almost 12,000. FAWCO serves as a resource and channel of information among its members, promotes the rights of U.S. citizens overseas; is active as a Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) with special consultative status to the United Nations Economic and Social Council; and contributes to the global community through its Task Forces and The FAWCO Foundation, which provides development grants and education awards. FAWCO and The FAWCO Foundation also collaborate on emergency funding for disaster relief. (Information taken from the FAWCO website)
