Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve commented before on the fact that I’m pretty taken with stripes. Well, A, one of my very good friends in Cologne, gave me two lovely balls of striping sock yarn and some patterns “for the plane”. I cast on the first toe on the train between Cologne and Frankfurt.

Stripey ribbed socks - toe on knitting needles

By the time I boarded my second flight in Bangkok the foot was well underway.

Stripey ribbed socks - foot on knitting needles

Since I’ve also been working on a cardigan, the socks were taken out and about in my bag but not worked on much at home. But now they are finished. This is Strrripes, my toe-up version of Regina Satta’s  Jeck design. There are columns of slipped stitches which stand out more when the socks are on feet:

Stripey ribbed socks on feetI adore stripes but self-striping sock yarn can be worrisome. Do I make the socks match exactly? Do I simply start the second sock where the first one ends? Do I…?

Look closely and you’ll see that the orange stripes across the feet are aligned. This is perfect for  T-bar style, Mary Jane, shoes. Look more closely and you’ll see (if it hasn’t jumped out at you already) that the other stripes stop and start roughly in the same places but the colours don’t match. In my indecision over whether to go for perfectly identical socks or not, I chose the other option and knitted one sock from each end of the ball!Stripey ribbed socks - side view

IF YOU’RE NOT LOGGED IN TO WORDPRESS YOU MAY SEE AN ADVERTISEMENT HERE. PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS IS NOT BECAUSE I EARN MONEY WITH A WORD AD PROGRAM, BUT BECAUSE I HAVEN’T PURCHASED THEIR NO ADS UPGRADE.  YOU CAN READ MORE HERE: ABOUT THESE ADS
