Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I didn’t make any New Year’s resolutions for 2014. Which was good, as I probably wouldn’t have kept them. I had started off the year by taking part in a minimal-commitment knitalong: Socks with Sarah, a KAL for 2014 but even then I fell by the wayside.

I certainly took the a “it doesn’t matter how little” to heart as according to Ravelry I needed three months to complete my first pair of socks! By the end of the year, I had knitted six pairs, (as well as various other things) but had definitely abandoned the idea of knit-a-bit-every-day, while other projects were given priority.

Many of the knitters in Knitting Sarah’s Ravelry group are keen to continue in 2015 and once again, I’m tempted. It really isn’t realistic to think I will actually knit part of a sock every day, particularly as I have other knitting and crafting objectives for the year. However, while my collection of hand-knit socks covers the green-blue-purple spectrum quite well…

handknitted socks in drawer…I think I need to broaden my colour horizons.

Funnily enough, I have been knitting on a sock nearly every day since Mr Soknitsome gave me this lovely New Zealand yarn for Christmas. He’d been in a wool shop in Auckland while on a business trip and had specifically asked for wool for socks. I was most impressed! (Amusingly, he’d been offered German yarn first!) This is Waikiwi Prints from Naturally and it is beautifully soft.

pink possum wool naturally waikiwi      pink possum wool naturally waikiwi sock heel

It’s made up of 55% New Zealand Merino, 20% nylon, 15% alpaca, and 10% possum. I’ve never knitted with such luxurious sock yarn before. The colour is fantastic too and, seemingly, just what I was needing. New Year’s resolutions anyone?

