Tags

, , , , , , ,

It’s fair to say that I am a tad enamoured with stripes. Now that favourites can be organised into bundles on Ravelry, I have a collection of striped garments as well as another for striped neckwear. Stripes feature highly, too, in one of my sock bundles. Older Soknitsome Daughter gave me some beautiful baby alpaca wool for my birthday, reckoning I could make (striped) socks with it. Well, this yarn is far too good for socks and I immediately thought about stripy scarves or small shawls instead. I’ve had Jennifer Dassau’s pattern Sundry in my favourites for a long time. Most of the projects are made with thinner yarn and more of it but this scarf/shawl pattern is knitted from side to side so it can be made to any size. Here’s mine.grey and purple houndstooth check scarf

This was the perfect project for knit night. In fact it was the perfect project full stop. It was such a pleasurably tactile experience that I knitted and knitted (it’s all garter) and knitted and of course once I reached the houndstooth section there was no stopping me.

I even took my knitting into the Botanic Gardens while making the most of some lovely sunshiny winter weather last weekend.

knitting outdoors sydney harbour bridge

I haven’t knitted this kind of check before. It’s just a matter of slipping alternate stitches yet it looks very effective. Even the ‘wrong’ side makes neat stripes. I decided against the picot edge and did a stretchy cast off which left me with just a couple of grams of wool.

grey and purple houndstooth check scarf    grey and purple houndstooth check scarf

In my eagerness to progress, I failed to read the pattern properly. Instead of knitting an increase into the last stitch of the row, I increased in the penultimate stitch, as usually happens. One of my edges does not look like it should but I wasn’t keen on undoing it as the yarn is slightly ‘sticky’. I know for next time.
grey and purple houndstooth check scarf

Next time? Yes, I could well imagine having another one of these.

IF YOU’RE NOT LOGGED IN TO WORDPRESS YOU MAY SEE AN ADVERTISEMENT HERE. PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS IS NOT BECAUSE I EARN MONEY WITH A WORD AD PROGRAM, BUT BECAUSE I HAVEN’T PURCHASED THEIR NO ADS UPGRADE.  YOU CAN READ MORE HERE: ABOUT THESE ADS
