Tags

, , , , , , ,

comes my new cardigan. This is Golden Rye, my version of “Rye” by Thea Colman (Ravelry user name babycocktails).

Close up side textured cardigan

I was asked by a friend if I’d made “a few” modifications to the pattern (she had this blue cardigan in mind where I made a heck of a lot of changes!) Yes, there are some modifications but only a few 😉 :

  • I wanted an in-between size to give me the suggested ease so I added eight stitches to the width and knitted the body without the waist shaping.
  • I wanted the cardigan to be longer.
  • The sleeves are full length and a bit wider than in the pattern. I increased every eight rows until I was just short of the next size and then knitted straight. I knitted the sleeves flat to avoid the twist I seem to get when knitting them in the round and to maintain the tension/gauge.
  • Button placement – I made more buttonholes to prevent the fronts from gaping. I may have overdone it slightly but I intensely dislike gaping fronts so I’d rather have too many than not enough!

Why did I choose this pattern?

  • I needed another warm jumper or cardigan. This is perfect for outdoors as a jacket replacement on sunny winter and spring days and keeps me warm and snuggly indoors when the temperatures drop.
  • The texture appealed to me and I had bought some suitable yarn in a LYS sale.
  • Once again, I liked the idea of knitting the button bands at the same time.

front view textured cardiganCriticism?

  • There were no other projects on Ravelry bar Thea Colman’s own. She designed this cardigan for Berroco. I usually wait until there are more projects. Since her other patterns have had test knitters and people seem very happy with the patterns and how they’re written, I decided to go ahead anyway.
  • My buttonholes look further away from the edge than those in the photos. However, as I had already done two (following the pattern instructions) before I realised this, I continued. It’s still winter here and the idea was to wear this cardigan soon.

Helpful hints

  • I worked the ribbing on 4.5 mm needles as it looked too sloppy on the 5 mm ones. The 4.5 mm needles are mentioned in the materials list but not anywhere in the pattern.
  • It’s important to pay attention to the blackberry pattern once the raglan decreases move into the textured panels! If you can’t “make 3” don’t decrease 3 together! Quite obvious but easy to forget, particularly if you’re chatting and knitting at the same time. I had to undo several rounds due to too much nattering and not enough counting!

back view textured cardiganYarn used?

  • I made my cardigan from Shepherd’s Own by FibraNatura. It’s a lovely undyed sheepy wool that comes with flock numbers instead of dye lots! It was lovely to work with and had no knots in any of the 100g skeins.
  • I bought my yarn at Morris and Sons, Sydney. It was a really good deal in the winter sale but according to Ravelry this yarn has been discontinued.

The 60 million dollar question: would I make this again?

  • Yes, I probably would. I think it would be easy to replace the blackberry stitch sections with differently textured panels to give a similar but different look.
  • The pattern was very easy to follow. I enjoyed knitting this bottom-up. It seemed less bulky than top-down since you’re on the decreasing rows for the raglan shaping once you have piles of knitting in your lap.
  • Even if I don’t knit another, I will certainly take a closer look at the rest of Thea’s patterns.
IF YOU’RE NOT LOGGED IN TO WORDPRESS YOU MAY SEE AN ADVERTISEMENT HERE. PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS IS NOT BECAUSE I EARN MONEY WITH A WORD AD PROGRAM, BUT BECAUSE I HAVEN’T PURCHASED THEIR NO ADS UPGRADE.  YOU CAN READ MORE HERE: ABOUT THESE ADS
