Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Mr Soknitsome left a fortnight ago yesterday and it no longer feels like just-another-business-trip but more like this-is-the-new-reality-for-the-next-few-weeks.

Fortunately, yesterday was one of those Mondays that are especially nice. Stitch ‘n’ Bitch met in the morning. Schools have broken up for the summer and many people are away so it was a fairly small group but we did welcome a new member to our group. The highlight of the morning was a longstanding member who only ever knits at Stitch ‘n’ Bitch finally finishing her Baktus-style scarf, earning her a round of applause!

I started a sample square/tension swatch for a little cardigan I want to make. Nice and easy knitting which leaves my brain free for all the lovely chat! I also made the most of having other knitters around to get measured. I needed the measurement across my back from shoulder-blade to shoulder-blade. Impossible to do by yourself but necessary to determine which size to knit because of the top-down contiguous construction of Ankestrick’s Same Same but different cardigan. This cardigan is knitted in 4-ply/fingering wool but at a looser gauge than when knitting socks.

three red tension squares gauge swatches

After spending the morning with some of my favourite people, which in itself makes the day marvellous, I then spent the evening out with more lovely friends. There’s a part of Cologne just to the south of me where a disproportionally high number of AIWCC members live. Many get together once a month for dinner. Last night we sat outdoors overlooking the Rhine. Marvellous.

distant view Cologne Cathedral and Rhine River